Packers Butler, Sharpe, Driver, Holmgren all nominated for PFHOF – Green Bay Packers News

Packers Butler, Sharpe, Driver, Holmgren all nominated for PFHOF – Green Bay Packers News


GREEN BAY, WI – OCTOBER 02: A general view of Lambeau Field before the Green Bay Packers take on the Minnesota Vikings on October 2, 2014 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Packers football is all about excellence.

For nearly 100 years, the Green Bay Packers have epitomized what is great about the National Football League.

So it isn’t with great surprise that three recent players and one head coach have all been honored with nominations for the Pro Football Hall of fame.

LeRoy Butler, Sterling Sharpe, Donald Driver and former head coach Mike Holmgren are all among the 108 players and coaches who have been nominated for induction into the Hall.

As nominees, they are eligible to become members of the semifinalist class which will then become finalists for final consideration.

The announcement of next year’s inductees takes place during Super Bowl weekend, which will be the first weekend in February 2018.

In addition to the nominees listed above, Jerry Kramer has already been nominated as a senior selection to the Hall, but in order for him to be inducted, he still needs 80 percent of the ballots to be included.

LeRoy Butler

With 38 career interceptions and 20.5 sacks, Butler dominated during his playing days during the 1990s with the Packers.

Butler also played in two Super Bowls in 1996 and 1997, and was a member of the Super Bowl-winning team in 1996.

He played in 181 regular season games over his 12-year career and was the first defensive back to register more than 20 interceptions and 20 sacks during his playing days.

Sterling Sharpe

As a five-time Pro Bowler and a three-time All-Pro,…

click here to read the rest of this story

Share this post

Post Comment